Heroines of Peace

Only 15 women have ever been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize; 15 women out of 124 awardees. Ironically most of the women laureate’s efforts for peace were vigorously obstructed by men. The Heroines of Peace series celebrates the unwavering commitment and courage of these women striving for peaceful resolutions within patriarchal systems. The Ikons image moments of their awakening, documenting their achievements.  The national flower of each country pays tribute to the heroine’s land of birth. This series was created in 2010 and thus images only 12 women – I look forward to honouring the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize awardees, Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakul Karman.


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: